View archived news

Attendees from 85 Countries Welcomed at the XXII World Allergy Congress (WAC 2011)

From 4-8 December in Cancún, México, 3,488 attendees from 79 countries gathered for the XXII World Allergy Congress (WAC 2011), one of the largest allergy/immunology scientific meetings in the world. In his opening remarks, Richard F. Lockey, WAO President, reminisced with attendees. "The first meeting of the World Allergy Organization took place in Zurich, Switzerland in 1951, at which 470 individuals attended. Now, WAO is an organization of 89 member groups and promotes excellence in patient care, teaching and research in the field of allergy and clinical immunology throughout the world. 2011 is also the 100th anniversary of allergen immunotherapy, the prototype of which is used today to treat many other diseases, not just allergic diseases. What a wonderful legacy."

Dr. Lockey expressed his appreciation also during his opening ceremony speech. “I am honored to be the WAO President and sincerely thank everyone who has made these last several years extremely enjoyable. WAO is the specialty’s international organization. Its purpose is to interact, collaborate, and cooperate with its 89 Member Societies as well as with the training programs. That is our goal and will continue to be our goal in moving the specialty of allergy and clinical immunology forward into this 21st Century.”

Click here to download the WAC 2011 Final Program.


WAO 60th Anniversary

Congress attendees relived WAO’s proudest achievements and, scientific breakthroughs and honored the pioneering leaders of the allergy specialty through the WAO 60th Anniversary Display. The display was featured at various events during the Congress and comprehensive articles by Alain de Weck and Michael Kaliner, past presidents of WAO, were on hand at the display. Personal recollections by past presidents, congress organizers and other WAO leaders that make up the new WAO History publication are available for reading and downloading on the WAO Journal website.



 Last updated: January 17, 2012