Facebook: World Allergy Organization
Twitter: World Allergy Organization
LinkedIn: World Allergy Organization
Instagram: World Allergy Organization
Back to Top

Giorgio Walter Canonica, MD, PhD

Professor Giorgio Walter Canonica is Chairman of the Dept of Medical Specialties at the University Hospital S. Martino Genoa. He is also Director of the Allergy & Respiratory Diseases Clinic, Genoa University Italy a Galen Centre of Excellence. Professor Canonica initially specialised in pulmonary diseases after having received his medical degree from the University of Genoa, he then specialised in Allergy and Clinical Immunology at Florence University. He subsequently conducted clinical immunology and allergology research in several European universities and institutes, in addition to two years at the Medical University of South Carolina, USA. Since returning to the University of Genoa in 1995, Professor Canonica has held a number of academic positions including Director of the Speciality School of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Director of the Specialty School of Pulmonary Diseases and Chairman of the Allergy & Respiratory Diseases Clinic. He is Board Member of ARIA (Allergic Rhinitis and its impact Asthma) guidelines.

Professor Canonica’s research interests include examination of the molecular events and interactions between immunocompetent cells, inflammatory cells and epithelial cells in allergic inflammation and airway remodelling. He is particularly involved in new strategies in the treatment of allergic disease, including biological response modifiers, such as specific immunotherapy (with a special focus on SLIT – sublingual immunotherapy). Professor Canonica has published extensively in international journals and acts as a referee for many immunology journals. He is also Editor in Chief of Current Opinion in Allergy and Clinical Immunology. In addition, Professor Canonica is a member of a number of societies, and recently served 6 years as Secretary General and President Elect of the World Allergy Organisation (WAO), he was president of WAO 2008/09.  He is also 1st Vice President of Interasma.