Facebook: World Allergy Organization
Twitter: World Allergy Organization
LinkedIn: World Allergy Organization
Back to Top

WAO News

WAO Center of Excellence Inauguration

WAO is proud to recognize the Asthma Center and Allergy Unit from Verona University Hospital as a WAO Center of Excellence. WAO President, Ignacio J. Ansotegui, MD, PhD, attended the inauguration of the Verona University Hospital in Italy as a WAO Center of Excellence. Congratulations to Prof. Gianenrico Senna and all center staff.

Learn more about WAO Centers of Excellence here.

A great star falls

18 July 2018

On behalf of the Japanese Society of Allergology, the World Allergy Organization is honored to share the following tribute to Dr. Kimishige Ishizaka.

Dr. Kimishige (Kimi) Ishizaka (born 3 December, 1925 in Tokyo) passed away from heart failure at dawn on 6 July 2018 in Yamagata, Japan. Kimi was best known as he discovered the antibody class Immunoglobulin E (IgE) in 1966, together with his wife and research partner, Dr. Teruko (Terry) Ishizaka (married in 1949). Kimi graduated at School of Medicine, the University of Tokyo in 1948 qualified as PhD in 1954 from the University of Tokyo. Then, he headed the Immunoserology Division at the Department of Serology at the Japanese National Institute of Health from 1954 to 1962. During his tenure in that position he spent two years as a Research Fellow at Caltech (1957-1959). In 1963, Kimi and Terry moved to Children's Asthma Research Institute and Hospital, Denver, Colorado. During their stay in Denver, the Ishizakas discovered IgE in 1966. Then, they demonstrated the IgE's critical role in mediating the release of histamine from mast cells. The discovery of IgE is considered a major breakthrough in the understanding of allergy.

In 1970, Ishizaka was appointed as O'Neill Professor of Medicine and Microbiology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland. From 1981 to 1989, he served as Director at the Department of Immunology at the university. Ishizaka became Scientific Director, and then President in 1990, of the La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology in La Jolla, California. After retiring in 1996, he returned to Japan and served as Honorary Director of the Institute of Immunology at Yamagata University.

The Ishizakas received numerous awards for their work in allergy and immunology. In 1972, they received the Passano Foundation Award. In 1973, he received the German Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize, the Takeda Medical Award, the first Scientific Achievement Award of the International Association of Allergology and they together received the Gairdner Foundation International Award. In 1974, he received the Asahi Cultural Award, the Imperial Prize of the Japan Academy, and the Japanese Order of Culture. In 1979, they received the Borden Award. In 2000, he was awarded the 16th Japan Prize.

The World Allergy Organization Journal receives its first impact factor

26 June 2018

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

In 2008, the World Allergy Organization (WAO) launched the World Allergy Organization Journal (WAO Journal) as the first online-only journal in Allergy. Its primary goal was to provide a global forum for scientific interaction among allergists and immunologists through the exchange of research and information in a publication that is freely and easily accessible to everyone. Then in 2013, the WAO Journal became the first open access journal in Allergy, further achieving that goal. Now the WAO Journal has reached another important milestone: receiving its first impact factor.

Clarivate, which publishes the Journal Citation Reports, has announced the 2017 impact factors. The WAO Journal has received an impact factor of 5.676, which is the 5th highest ranking in the category for Allergy. This performance standard among scientific, technical and medical publications measures how often a journal’s articles are cited over a specific period of time. The 2017 impact factor reflects the number of citations in 2017 of articles published in 2015 and 2016, a total of 1,352 citations.

We are proud to congratulate the WAO Journal Joint Editors-in-Chief, Alessandro Fiocchi, MD, and Erika Jensen-Jarolim, MD, as well as the Managing Editor, Sofia Dorsano, CAE, and all distinguished members of the Editorial Board over the past ten years on this outstanding achievement. We acknowledge the pioneering efforts of the Founding Editors, Johannes Ring, PhD, MD, and Lanny Rosenwasser, MD, and all of those in the WAO leadership and membership at large who have worked tirelessly in developing the WAO Journal within a very competitive field. It is very important to express our appreciation also to our readers, contributors, reviewers, and the entire WAO Journal community.

Sincere regards,

Ignacio J. Ansotegui, MD, PhD
President, World Allergy Organization
on behalf of the Board of Directors