Junior Member News - June 2014

WAO Junior Members Group

Introduction of Chinese Society of Allergy

At present, Allergy and Clinical immunology is a young specialty with fast development in China. Chinese Society of Allergy was founded in 2001 and Junior Member Group was set up in 2010. Specialists, including allergists, respiratory physicians, ENT specialists, dermatologists and pediatricians, work closely to promote the clinical and experimental progress in this field. In general, there is a low rate of allergists per head of population in China. In this case, education activities to junior members are especially crucial. Therefore, Chinese Society of Allergy takes the training of junior specialists as an important task. Junior member salon, four times a year, is in progress to enhance communication between juniors and seniors.


Congratulations for successful East Asia Allergy Symposium 2014!

The East Asia Allergy Symposium (EAAS) 2014 concluded successfully in Kyoto, Japan on May 11th, 2014. This scientific symposium develops under cooperation of the Korean Academy of Asthma, Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Chinese Society of Allergology, and Japanese Society of Allergology, in order to improve communication and expand knowledge in the related professionals around East Asia. Three countries take charge of the symposium annually in turn. Not only did the EAAS 2014 offer update and practical view of allergies and asthma, but also provided delicious Japanese foods together with amazing firework show in welcome party.

Fifteen speakers from 3 countries exhibited their excellent work on the theme of “Progress and Innovation in Allergic Disease”. Delegates had opportunities to attend morning lecture “generation and characterization of mast-cell like cells from pluripotent stem cells” and two symposiums on “Innate/adaptive immunity and allergy” and “Food allergy and related diseases” respectively. World allergy experts evaluated the presentations during the meeting, and two junior members received “Young Investigator Award” after free paper session. One was given to Heung-Woo Park, from Korea, and the second to Hongfei Lou, from China. Next EAAS will be held on May 9th, 2015 in Korea. We are looking forward to next fruitful meeting!


Hongfei Lou, MD

Beijing Institute of Otolaryngology
Department of Otorhinolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery,
Beijing TongRen Hospital,
Beijing, P.R.China