Facebook: World Allergy Organization
Twitter: World Allergy Organization
LinkedIn: World Allergy Organization
Back to Top

What's New


Debates in Allergy Medicine

Alessandro Fiocchi, MD, and Erika Jensen-Jarolim, MD, Editors-in-Chief, are proud to announce the first articles in a new collection of the World Allergy Organization Journal (WAO Journal), Debates in Allergy Medicine. The series introduces allergy topics of common interest as dialogues, taking up the tradition of the scientific method by comparing the different views presented on a given topic.

“The article series starting this week aims to offer a place for opposing opinions where readers may consider the different lines of reasoning and make their own evaluations. I would like to sincerely thank Erika Jensen-Jarolim, Co-Editor-in-Chief, and our colleagues on the Journal Editorial Board, for their time and contributions to this project. We hope that this series will be of value to our worldwide audience of allergists and all physicians interested in allergy and related conditions. If so, these debates will ultimately benefit the clinical management of patients.” -- Alessandro Fiocchi

The first debate published on 14 December 2015:

  • Con View – Debates in Allergy Medicine: Food intolerance does not exist (Sten Dreborg)
  • Pro View – Debates in Allergy Medicine: Food intolerance does exist (Yvan Vandenplas)<


Recent Understanding for New Mechanisms of Allergy and Airway Inflammation

WAO is pleased to announce the launch of a new online lecture series on "Recent Understanding for New Mechanisms of Allergy and Airway Inflammation". The lectures were part of the symposium of the WAO Collaborative on Severe Asthma (COSA) and were recorded during the World Allergy Congress (WAC 2015) in Seoul, South Korea.

This program consists of:

New Insights into Eosinophil-Mediated Immunopathology presented by Hans-Uwe Simon, MD, PhD (University of Bern, Bern, Switzerland)

Similarity and Difference between Th3 Inflammations presented by Deborah Strickland, PhD (Experimental Asthma Research Group, Telethon Institute for Child Health Research, West Perth, Australia)

Clinical Phenotypes and Molecular Mechanisms of Severe Asthma presented by Koichiro Asano, MD (Division of Pulmonary Medicine, Department of Medicine, Tokai University School of Medicine, Kanagawa, Japan)

Question and Answer Session

Click here to access the online lecture.

The production and distribution of this symposium was made possible by an unrestricted educational grant from Teva.


Check out December’s Junior Member News by the WAO Junior Members Group Chairs, Dr Luciana Kase Tanno and Dr Ves Dimov. We greatly thank both of them for their contributions to this month’s WAO Junior Member News and their contributions to the WAO Junior Members Group Steering Committee for the 2014-2015 term!


WAO has been recognized in the 2015 MarCom Awards, judged and administered by the International Association of Marketing and Communications Professionals. The WAO website and WAO News & Notes received the 2015 Gold Award, which is presented to those entries judged to exceed the high standards of the industry norm. WAC 2015 Seoul Insider received an Honorable Mention. There were over 6,000 entries worldwide.

Congratulations to Prof. Juan Carlos Ivancevich, Web Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Dana Wallace, Deputy Editor, the WAO Web Editorial Board, and all content contributors, reviewers, and translators involved in the WAO website.

PhARF Award 2016

The Phadia Allergy Research Forum (PhARF) invites you to nominate a candidate for the 2016 PhARF Award. The objective of PhARF is to encourage progress in allergy research, specifically through the PhARF Award, which is aimed at recognizing outstanding younger investigators. The Award amounts to 50,000 USD.

Nomination Deadline: 31 December 2015

To nominate, click here.


As requested by the French Health Authority (ANSM), manufacturing activities and distribution of products manufactured by Stallergenes SAS at the Antony (France) plant have been temporarily suspended as of 2nd December 2015. For an official statement from Stallergenes, click here.